Jeremy has been with us for more than two months now. Here are two articles that TS2 students wrote after interviewing him in October. Meet Jeremy, our English assistant !

    The new English assistant


    Jeremy, 21 is our new assistant. He comes from England, more specifically from Oxfordshire (really near Oxford). Even if he grew up in England for 8 years, he has got a Belgian passport because he was born in Belgium, in Brussels and his mother is also Belgian. That’s why he understands french and speaks it a little bit. Moreover, Jeremy has got 2 brothers, one older who is 22 and one younger who goes to 18.

    He also has two hobbies : sport and music. Furthermore he plays football and his favorite football team is Oxford United. Then he also plays the guitar (acoustic song as well as electric songs, for example he can play some Eric Clapton songs along with Oasis songs). And some evenings he goes to the gym. To finish with he also used to draw and paint but he doesn’t play video games.

    Our assistant came to France in connection with his studies. In fact, he would like to work in an International Organisation, and more specifically in the field of economic development. And this project requires to spend years in different countries. For example he also used to live in the Seychelles. Nevertheless he only went on 2 of the 150 islands that exist. Moreover, before coming in France he studied French and politics in Swansea University. So for this current year he had to make choices of places where he wanted to study. Martinique was his first choice and Reims his second one. Anyway, he is now happy to live in Reims because, being interested in architecture, he wanted to come in our city to see the cathedral. And his wish has been realised because several weeks ago he had a tour of the cathedral. And since he lives in Reims, he lives with one flatmate : a French-American student of Political Science’s Faculty.

    Moreover he had already been to France before. In fact, he went to Paris quite often when he was young because his father worked there. Thus he prefers Reims or London to Paris because according to him, Paris is too congested and less clean than London or Reims. However he likes French cooking better than English one.

    To finish, next summer he is doing an internship to the United Nation (because later he would like to work in Asia). But usually when he is on summer holidays he doesn’t work : he has two types of summer holidays, one more fun during which he goes to parties and others during which he do crosswords.













    He’s the new English assistant, but we don’t know him that well yet. So, with the class, we asked him about his life and hobbies.

    Jeremy is 21 years old and he’s got two brothers who are 22 and 28. He lives in a town near Oxford in England, and now he’s with us in Reims. He speaks fluent English and a bit of French because his mother is part Belgian, part Italian.

    This job is the first one he has ever had in a high school, although he has already done some tutoring in the past.

    Reims was his second choice on his wish list, while his first choice was Guadeloupe. Indeed when he was at school his teacher showed the class pictures of French cities including Reims and he found the town pretty. Now he lives near the Avenue de Laon with his roommate who is Franco-American and studies politis in “Sciences Po-Reims”.

    He wants to promote economic development in poor areas through an international association, which is why next summer he’s going to do an internship in Kenya and later he’ll go to Asia because he lived in Malaysia when he was younger.

    Jeremy plays football and his favourite team is Oxford United. He also plays the guitar and he likes to play various types of music. He goes to the gym, but doesn’t play video games. He likes to read the newspaper. He listens to the same music as us, like Drake or the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

    We asked him what he liked best about France compared to England. He told us that he thinks French food is better than English food. He watches a lot of TV series like GOT. His dream destination is the Seychelles. He lived there for 3 years. He also went to Ibiza last summer. It was fun holidays !



    « TO INTERRUPT OR NOT TO INTERRUPTLycée Marc Chagall / Brick Township High School »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):