• A tour of London, ep. 1: Big Ben and the towers of Parliament

    After a virtual tour in an art museum, here is a virtual tour in London !

    As you know, the summer Olympic Games will be held this year in London from July, 27th to August 12th 2012. A good opportunity to (re)discover the beauties of the British capital.  

    A highlight in the city’s landscape, the Palace of Westminster, also known as the Houses of Parliament, is one of the most famous buildings in the world. The Palace contains three striking towers: The tallest is the Victoria Tower, named after Queen Victoria. The other two are the Central Tower and the Clock Tower - abusively known as Big Ben. Big Ben is, in fact, the nickname of the great bell of the Clock Tower.  If you wish, you can take a tour of Big Ben just by watching this video. That way, you won’t have to climb the  334 steps to the top to enjoy the view and hear the distinctive sound of the Bell! Have fun 

    Just a click !

     http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkDU7SBBPA0

     

     By the way, did you know that…

     

    …a recent investigation showed that Big Ben is leaning and no longer in the perpendicular. So much so, actually, that you can see it with a naked eye. However, surveyors claim that it would take 4,000 years to reach the angle of the Leaning Tower of Pisa and even longer for the Clock Tower to topple.

     

    What a relief !

     

     

     

    Picture showing Big Ben

     

    Courtesy of www.copyright-free-pictures.org.uk

     

    Violaine Azema

     

    « Soon on your school's screen !PLAYING WITH WORDS »

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    1
    anglaischagall anglaischagall profile
    Friday 27th January 2012 at 19:46

    It makes me feel like going back to London straight away !


    I was there in December, but didn't notice anything about Big Ben...

    2
    Violaine
    Friday 27th January 2012 at 22:33

    I'm glad you liked the article. I do love London very much and I hope it shows! 

     I can't wait to go back...

    3
    Estelinka
    Tuesday 4th June 2013 at 08:56

    BIG BEN ! Oh lala , the symbolic face of London, and one of my favorite monuments. (If one day I'll be behind it, i cry, because first : I'm in England. Second : I'm in London. Third: I'm behinf of Big Ben). I don't know why this country make me so Happy and make me dream a lot.

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: